Some thoughts on turning 41…

Let me share with you some random thoughts running in my head as I turned 14 today. Hehehe I mean 41! I’ve arranged them in no particular order or value.

Chocolate is good for you. It reduces cholesterol and releases your happy hormones. Anyone who tells you otherwise needs to let their hair down. That’s what I call a lesson in learning to live and enjoying life a little. Just don’t overdo it though, especially if you’re diabetic🙂

A good cup of coffee is one of the simplest pleasures in life. But in the absence of good cuppa, a bad cup is better than no cup. That’s a lesson in being grateful and enjoying life as it is. Your time on this earth is measured by the life in your years, not by the years in your life. So, don’t sweat the small stuff. Shit happens sometimes, you can choose to feel shitty or make the best of the situation.

Good pizza is worth the calories. Bad pizza is not. Likewise, Nasi Lemak, Roti Canai and Teh Tarik too. Only one way to find out. Hehehe, life is meant to be enjoyed, not endured. If you do everything in moderation, you can enjoy many, many things in life in moderate doses that will sum up to become hefty pleasures.

The Oreo is the best cookie ever made. I have no argument there. Oreo cookies dipped in cold milk makes me happy. Hehehe just like they do in the ads. So I’ll give credit to Oreos for a bit of my happiness. The lesson I learned is, making other people happy for the right reason will only multiply your own happiness. Don’t be afraid to acknowledge and give credit to everyone and everything for their contribution to your happiness.

M&M’s and Hersheys make almost everything feels better. When you are stuck, get unstuck by taking a step back, take a breather and come back later to a different perspective at the same thing.

Alhamdulillah, ceramah means more than they used to. Appreciate every good advice, even if it will kill your ego and undermine your need “to be right”. Learn to let go of the need to be right all the time. By insisting on being right, you may feel elevated above those who you can prove wrong. But is it serving you well in the end? So, it is okay to realise that you are wrong sometimes, and open up to other people’s perspectives, opinions and thoughts.

Youth is certainly wasted on the young. We don’t always appreciate what we have until it is taken a way from us. Don’t take people and things for granted. Count every blessing in life.

Good friends are worth the trouble…and I am not yet the friend I hope to be. I’ve learned that love, kinship and friendship transcend humanity. So does understanding and sacrifice. I love all my family and my friends. I love all my cats and kittens, they’re family and friends too.

My career has been not like what I’d imagined when I was younger, but I wouldn’t trade it for any other. Even though this is not what I had set out to do when I graduated from the university or when I entered college. Far from it. But it brought me new adventures and learnings, and news things to explore. Through my career I met many people who later became my acquaintances, friends, buddies and some became best friends forever. A few actually became my family members. Through sheer hard work and sometimes “intelligence” and “working smart” (both words are overrated), learning through my own experience and other people’s experience, I became humble and grateful to Allah for giving me very good rezeki. In return, I will act with kindness and thoughtfulness to my fellow human beings and to God’s creatures, especially cats.

Aches and pains take longer to go away and I have more of them. Always have a muscle pain reliever with you all the time, and whatever medication you need, just in case, especially when traveling. It is also a lesson in being prepared for every situation. Thankfully, age comes with better foresight and wisdom to anticipate and pre-empt what will happen.

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

3 responses to “Some thoughts on turning 41…

Leave a Reply

