Feeding the hungry

For the first time in my life, I volunteered at a soup kitchen in feeding the city’s homeless and destitute last week on Friday night, together with my two travel friends from Poland, Kasia Wanat and Aga Ulbrych who made a stop over in Malaysia en route to Bali. It was a humbling experience, and the reward is the joy of giving two hours of my time and energy to put a smile on their faces as the food keeps them from being hungry.

I stumbled upon PERTIWI Soup Kitchen on Facebook last week on Thursday, and decided to volunteer after being inspired by my ex-colleague, Farah Delah Suhaimi Doshi who has started the same for some time. Kasia and Aga, whom I was hosting at my house, got excited too, and they came along with me to the food distribution location just behind Tune Hotel on Jalan Sultan Ismail. This is the first stop. The second stop is behind Kotaraya, next to McDonald’s and in front of Mydin’s open car park.

The soup kitchen is created by the good women of the Pertubuhan Tindakan Wanita Islam (PERTIWI). A soup kitchen provides meals for the destitute who are very needy. In this case, it is the homeless in Kuala Lumpur, regardless of age, gender, religion, race or nationality. PERTIWI Soup Kitchen van, donated by the Rotary Club, makes two rounds every week, namely Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Sundays.

I’m hoping to do this once a week, mostly on Fridays. Come join me!

I’m sharing a video produced by one of the volunteers for her academic project. If you are interested to offer donations (either monetary or food items) or your help, please refer to the ending credits of the video.

PERTIWI Soup Kitchen from Tristan Toh on Vimeo.

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

Leave a Reply

