How to Get inside a Guy’s Mind

I came across this interesting article by Cosmopolitan.com (Wed Mar 3, 2010)

How to Get inside a Guy’s Mind

It’s no secret that guys aren’t the best at articulating what they’re thinking. Combine that with the fact that they’d rather bend the truth a little than risk letting you down and you’re left with a baffling, cryptic code to decipher. We got guys to let us in on what some of their most said phrases really mean. Plus, find out the four things he’ll never open up about.

1. He Says: “We should hang out sometime.” He Means: “I’m afraid you’ll say ‘no’ if I ask you out.” Of course, actions speak louder than words. Find out if he’s hitting on you by decoding his body language.

2. He Says: “I’ll call you later.” He Means: “I may or may not call you at some point between now and three months from now.”

3. He Says: “My ex is crazy.” He Means: “I messed her up, and she got upset.” When you talk about your ex, here’s how to bend the truth so you don’t bruise his ego.

4. He Says: “That guy seems like a good friend of yours.” He Means: “Was there ever a thing between you?”

5. He Says: “It’s a long story.” He Means: “It’s a story that makes me look bad.”

6. He Says: “That’s a new look.” He Means: “You look weird.”

7. He Says: “Why are you being so emotional?” He Means: “Why are you acting like a psycho?”

8. He Says: “That’s not what I meant.” He Means: “That’s totally what I meant, but now that I see you’re mad, I wish I hadn’t said it out loud.”

9. He Says: “It’s fine.” He Means: “It’s not actually fine, but I’m in no mood to discuss it.”

10. He Says: “Can we talk about this later?” He Means: “I never want to talk about this again.”

And there you have it! But keep in mind this interesting talk versus walk fact: Women prefer to bond with their partner via conversation, while the majority of men would rather engage in activities together. So next time, when you feel the urge to bond over a deep discussion, try planning a fun activity together instead!

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

2 responses to “How to Get inside a Guy’s Mind

  • Max

    Hey there. Reading this article I have found a lot of truth (at least for my own actions) in what you have said. I wouldn’t follow this like a bible though, as a lot can be very situational. And no, I’m not giving examples as people tend to try to punch holes in them and thus believe your terms follow through on every situation, which they don’t.

    My question: When I say to a girl “Hey, you look gorgeous”, or something of that nature, every freaking time the response is in the area of “Don’t lie to me, I look hideous.” Why do they do this? It makes me feel like not complementing them any more. Imagine spending all day cooking something special for a guy and then he tells your “that’s really nice of you, but I’m not hungry.” Sorry for the stereotype, but it’s the best analogy I have. Any ways, could someone answer my question? I’m a sixteen-hormone filled guy trying to hook up without giving up on the girl, and yes, it’s happened before.

    • Nel Fahro-Rozi

      Hi there. Sorry this reply took a while. Been hectic either cooped up in the office and in meetings since I unexpectedly joined the Prime Minister’s Dept.

      Now back to your question, 16 is really young to be worrying about relationships. Relax, take it easy and go with the flow. What I learned is this, when you chase after someone, he or she will run away. Likewise, when a guy chases after me, I will run away as well, as fast as I can. Sure, I like a guy to pursue me, but not as in “chasing” but more of being a gentleman and making me feel like a lady, getting my attention intellectually and emotionally, not being possesive, and respecting my need for space and privacy too. I think what you need most in the self confidence. I hope this helps you a little. Wanna help you more but am not an expert.

      Best regards, Nel

Leave a Reply

