Confessions of a Latte Activist

I confess. I am a Latte Activist. That means, I care enough to want to make a difference, but I am not willing to take an effective action that would create results. 

I would rather have someone else take the lead and drive the change. Then I would support from afar and pray that things would change for the better. I would share my frustrations with my other Latte Activist friends while we sip hot latte over brunch at a coffee bar on a Sunday morning.

I care about my country, my community, my environment and my fellow countrymen. I care enough to feel for them. I care about stuff I read in the newspapers.

When I see more good news than bad news in the newspaper, I am inclined to blame the government for the country’s lack of press freedom and freedom of speech. Being the wary Latte Activist that I am, I would assume this is just another public relations exercise by the Government to make the powers that be look good.

But then again, on the other side of the green grass though, I become fearful when I see too much of bad news all around the world.

Yeah, politics, sex, war and crime move the newspapers at the news stand.  

Politicians are openly scandalous and scrupulous. Snatch thieves are becoming more rampant, committing crime in broad daylight.  People are being murdered every day, by robbers, by money lenders, by strangers, by scorned lovers, by enemies, by spiteful friends, by family members. Newborn and unborn babies found dead in garbage bins or dumped from some apartment upstairs along with other garbage.

Sodomy, incest and rape cases are becoming our society’s daily piece meal. The other day I read about this monster dad who raped his teenage daughter twice. To add salt to the wound, his teenage son followed in his footstep and raped the poor girl too. Man has turned into animals!

Talk about animals, some people is far worse than animals. Recently, I read about city hall’s dog catchers who were ill treating the stray dogs and one was reported for cruelly beating a dog until the poor animal’s ear fell off.  Catch the stray dogs if you have to, but please be more humane in treating animals. What happens to humanity?

This borderless world is getting restless too. As if our impending financial crisis is not enough to complicate this world. I was just about to digest the news of the unrest in Thailand, and boom, just this week militant terrorists have taken hostage innocent civilians in two luxury hotels in Mumbai. The terrorists killed 143 and wounded 288 of them before the siege ended yesterday.

Looking at mankind’s cruelty to man, animals and our environment, I would be angry if I were Mother Earth. So, is it a wonder why we are experiencing natural disasters every other day – earthquakes, tsunamis, landslides, forest fires, tornados and volcano eruptions?  

Come to think of it, this Latte Activist is tired of reading the newspapers. Ignorance is bliss, right? Hmmm…I wish!

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

3 responses to “Confessions of a Latte Activist

Leave a Reply

