Giving thanks

On the eve of Eid ul Fitr, I was thinking about how much I’ve accomplished in life. It’s not THAT great compared to some of my more successful friends. But it is good enough compared to some of my not so successful friends. But then, who am I to judge a person’s success?

 

Then I read what Shawnee Chief, Tecumseh said and came down to Earth: “When you arise in the morning, give thanks for the morning light, for your life and strength. Give thanks for your food, and the joy of living. If you see no reason for giving thanks, the fault lies with yourself.”

 

So, on Eid ul Fitr, I give my thanks to Allah for all the blessings I have received.

 

I give thanks for being born a Muslim, and remaining a Muslim today. I give thanks that Malaysia is Muslim country, and that we practice religious tolerance and freedom to practice our religion. Our local politics suck at the moment but at least we are not facing the kind of turmoil that our neighbors are.

 

I give thanks that both my parents are alive and kicking, never mind the fact that they always disagree with each other. I think my parents are a lot healthier and lead a more active lifestyle than I do.

 

I give thanks for having two younger brothers who are loving and protective of me. My brothers may never repay me for the hard-earned money I have spent on their university education. Nonetheless, I give thanks because my brothers graduated with university degrees, and are doing well – one is an interior design consultant in Dubai and the other one is running his own multimedia technology consultancy business.

 

I give thanks for getting along well with my two sisters-in-law, although initially I had teething problems with new sister-in-law prior to their engagement, but we have a good relationship now that they are married. The not so new sister-in-law is heaven sent, and I couldn’t have asked for a better sister-in-law!

 

I give thanks for having a bright, charming and beautiful 2 + years old nephew who brings me such joy and happiness, and whom I shower with love.

 

I give thanks for having a job that I am passionate about. I give thanks that my company is generous with employees, giving bonuses even to new employees who have not been confirmed as permanent employees, like me. I give thanks for having a wonderful boss, supportive colleagues and dedicated staff.

 

I give thanks for having a man in my life that is supportive of me, although he would not be ready for long-term commitment until he graduates. Ours is not a typical relationship but then again, neither one of us is a typical individual.


I even give thanks even for the excruciating pain I suffered when The Ex-Hubby left me five years ago. He left me broken and dead broke too. Nonetheless, I am thankful to him, for without the challenges and obstacles that I have managed to overcome, my life would not have been as eventful, exciting and interesting as it has been and still is now. My ordinary life becomes extraordinary because of The Ex-Hubby.

 

The rain has stopped. The storm has calmed. The dirt has settled. The road is no longer uphill. I could have wished all this never happened, but I am glad it happened, because adversity introduces a woman to herself.

 

Like this phrase I saw in a commercial at a cinema that goes something like this, “A journey is not just a trip. It’s a learning process. It is a search for truth, freedom or self- discovery. Does the person create the journey? Or does the journey create the person?”

 

Whatever it is, I give thanks for this journey.

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

2 responses to “Giving thanks

Leave a Reply

