I remembered him

At the other end of the room, I saw him. I saw his face. Nothing has changed. I remembered him.

I remembered walking hand in hand with him in the park by that lake. I remembered the love that grew in our hearts.  I remembered that voice which made sweet promises of happy ever after. I remembered those tender hands holding mine and putting a wedding ring on my left finger. I remembered those lips kissing my forehead as he uncovered my veil.

I was blushing for a moment, bathed in a gush of sweet memories of yesterday. I felt a rush of blood going up my cheeks in excitement. For that one blissful moment, I missed him terribly.  My little feet quickened their steps in the direction where he was standing. 

Suddenly, the peter patter stopped and my little feet froze for a moment. At that moment, my mind remembered the pain he had mete out on me. That excitement grew into anxiety. That anxiety turned into anguish.

My mind remembered that life I had with him that ended when he tossed me away like a useless old rag doll. His ice cold, frozen heart knew neither compassion nor kindness. He had left me to die out in the cold.  He had left me without a word and without a care.

My mind remembered those tears that flow like a river as I wept for him alone in my room, knowing he was having a jolly time with her, knowing that she was in the place where I used to be with him.

My mind remembered and my little feet whisked me away as far as I could be from his sight. Nothing has changed. I remembered him.

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

5 responses to “I remembered him

Leave a Reply

