Forgive and forget…

  • There are moments in my life when I miss someone so much that I just want to pick him from my dreams and hug him for real!  

  • Eidul Fitri is one of those times of the year that I really missed him – my not so forgotten past.

  • I said “not so forgotten” because I tried very hard to erase him from my memory but it’s such a futile attempt.

  • For God’s sake, he was my other half, my significant other, for almost 15 years. We literally grew up together – through good and bad times.

  • How can one erase close to half of one’s lifetime’s memory without the danger of getting Alzheimer? Ouch, touch wood!  

  • So in the end, he resides in my memory – awakened by nostalgic moments such as this day. Sometimes, in the grip of a sudden poetic mood, I buried myself in the sweetness of those memories, and dared myself to daydream. But alas! My daydream never lasted very long.  

  • Eidul Fitri is my Total Recall Day every year since we parted our separate ways five years ago.  Omigod! Has it been five years already??? Darnest! I’ve been single for that long??? Wow, time really flies.  

  • Thank God, however, I’m not one who wallows in grief over a long lost forgotten love and what could have been. Although I still think about him sometimes, he remains only a distant memory in my head now. 

  • Honestly, I hope he finds what he’s looking for. I hope he is happy with his choices in life. I know he did one or two very terrible things to me, and he caused me so much heartache and years of reeling in emotional pain, but I forgive him nevertheless – at least once a year.

  • Afterall, Eidul Fitri is about forgiveness. To NOT forgive him means I would be carrying a heavy burden in my chest through the rest of my journey in this life – I ain’t gonna carry that load!!!  

  • They say, the brightest future will always be based on a forgotten past; you can’t go forward in life until you let go of your past failures and heartaches. I shall do my best.

  • Eidul Fitri Mubarak! Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri!

raya.jpg

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

3 responses to “Forgive and forget…

  • fazlanggggggg

    Selamat Hari Raya, Maaf Zahir & Batin

  • addie

    Frank Sinatra said:
    “The best revenge is massive success.”

    I know revenge isn’t the right thing at this time of year, God forbid! – but at least be successful and you know you’ve overcome him. What goes around comes around too – and as far as we know, thanks to caring sources, life isn’t exactly a bed of roses for him now either. I guess you can say he’s living his punishment. But that episode with him is over. We wish him well (because i don’t wish him “the best” hahaha) but we soldier on. Because at the end of the day, all we have is the love inside of us, and the love from our family.

    And that’s the only truth we will ever have.

    Happy Eid-ul Fitr, my love!

  • penglipurlara

    Hehehe Addie, I know how you feel about him🙂

    Fazlan, Selamat Hari Raya! How’s the baby?

Leave a Reply

