Checked in a blind alley

  • Scottish poet Robert Burns (1759-1796) wrote, “The best laid schemes o’ mice and men often go astray.” 

  • So did mine. My life’s plan isn’t working out the way I wanted. I worked hard to move up the corporate ladder and that promotion didn’t happen. 

  • I’m glad however that some air was cleared last night when my boss called me into her room, and told me that she’s concerned that I looked demoralised lately.  

  • My boss wanted me to understand that she recommended me for promotion, but it wasn’t approved by the management because they can’t have so many promotions in a division.  Blame it on the f*cking curve that the consultants implemented, which means human resource also cut down my salary raise percentage because it’s outside the curve.

  • My boss also showed me her some confidential document showing her recommendation to the management for my promotion. She said she’s as disappointed as I am that I didn’t get what she recommended, because I’m one of her performing team members. 

  • Oh well, she’s disappointed, and I’m confused. Perfect.

  •  I told her I was little left out when three of my colleagues got promoted and I didn’t when I worked just as hard. I even helped them with their projects, out of teamwork spirit and I was never calculative.

  • So, I was wondering if I’m just not good enough for a promotion, or perhaps I wasn’t managing my bosses’ expectations well enough or perhaps I’m not visible enough to the management. I was wondering what was wrong with the way I work. 

appraisal.jpg

  • My boss assured me it wasn’t those at all. In fact, she said I work hard, I’m a good team player, I have a very positive attitude that’s infectious and I contribute tremendously to the division’s performance.  She said if I continue to consistently keep up all these good qualities, I can be rest assured she will recommend me for promotion again during next appraisal. Thank you, Boss!

  • Later that night, I confided in Rugger Dan what’s happened.  I dunno why, I just feel good talking to him. He’s a good listener and he usually gives sound advice. He said obviously there’s nothing wrong with me. There’s apparently something wrong with the organisation.  I’m not sure if I feel relieved or worried now. But in any case, Rugger Dan said just keep doing a good job, sooner or later, someone will notice.  

  • He also said that our “rezeki” or fortune doesn’t always come in the form of money. It could come in the form of love and other source of blissful happiness, for example. So I shouldn’t fret because Allah knows best what’s good for us.

  • Just wanna share with you, Scottish novelist A.J Cronin, once wrote, “Life is no straight and easy corridor alongwhich we travel free and unhampered,but a maze of passages, through which we must seek our way, lost and confused, now and again checked in a blind alley. But always, if we have faith, God will always open a door for us, not perhaps one that we ourselves would have thought of, but one that will ultimately prove good for us.” 

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

5 responses to “Checked in a blind alley

Leave a Reply

