Spoonerism

When I was in primary school, my English language skill was terrible and I was not doing well in school.  Fortunately or unfortunately I do not know, when I entered Standard 5, I had one really terrible teacher who always made fun of my bad English in front of my class and punished me for even the smallest mistakes.  

One day, she told me in front of the class, that I was so stupid that I was not fit to get even one “A” for the Year Five Assessment Exam.  I don’t know if she really hated me or just to challenge me. But I thank her all the same because this has started my linguistic revolution and evolution of sorts.  It was unfortunate for me to have been humiliated as such but it was fortunate for me as it made me determined to challenge her and proved her wrong.

I studied really hard from that moment on, and improved my learning methods and practiced my English diligently. Every day, I would pick a word from the dictionary and use it at least thrice a day, as well as use that word in my daily journal.  That was how I developed my love for writing. 

Oh did I tell you, I also got all As for my Year Five Assessment Exam and proven my teacher wrong.

I still do love to pick a word from the dictionary once in a while, after all those years.

Today, I found an interesting English word – spoonerism. Spoonerism means the transposition of usually initial sounds in a pair of words.  Here are some examples:

  • It is kisstomary to cuss [“customary to kiss”] the bride.

  • Is the bean dizzy [“dean busy”]?

  • Let me sew you to your sheet [“show you to your seat”].

  • When the boys come back from
    France, we’ll have the hags flung out [“flags hung out”]!

Here’s one I just thot of: I sit next! Hahaha just kidding, but go figure if you like :)

About Nel Fahro-Rozi

I’m an avid reader, prolific wordsmith, cat lover, and passionate foodie and traveler. When I’m not in a world of my own with any of the above, I am an entrepreneur, communicator and writer. View all posts by Nel Fahro-Rozi

9 responses to “Spoonerism

  • linalani

    your studying pays off i must say:D..u write very well..kudos to those teachers…;)

    i sit next..hmmmm….i snack?

  • Diyana

    there was this ustazah that liked to pick on me when i was in high school, naughty and noisy..heheh..she liked to embarassed my friends n i infront of class… we all

  • Diyana

    …hated her and cursed the baby she was having to grow up naughty like us.. hehehe…

    btw, you write well, its almost unbeliveable that u once had bad problem with your english…🙂

  • penglipurlara

    hehehe lina…wrong answer tu, cuba sekali lagi🙂

    diyana…hehehe better believe it!

    one thing is sure, there is hope for everyone🙂

  • elly

    is it, “i need sex?” hehehe….

  • intan

    nel, thanx for visiting my blog! I’ve missed reading ur writings.

    In my case, my ustaz was the pits.. no wonder i did miserably, too… unlike u, i don’t take well to criticism. Spoonerism sounds like ‘sasul’ or a kind of spoken dyslexia.

  • Ash

    Hey Nel, thanks for droppin’ by my blog! I loved to read your writings and it is a great relief for me that you didn’t decide to quit blogging! He he he he. Ps: You really have to thank your teacher… coz from your writings I can’t detect at all that you used to have bad English.🙂

  • penglipurlara

    Hey Ash! I love your blog too🙂 Hehehe yeah I gotta thank that teacher. I think she did that on purpose cuz i was such a lazy bum🙂

Leave a Reply

